The Sorcerer

Premiere Watch Party
August 14th 7:30 pm
Live on YouTube

Video Available From
Aug 14th - 30th

About #DiscoverGSA

Each month for the next several months, Gilbert & Sullivan Austin will release a high-definition video of one of our recent award-nominated productions. These full-length videos have only been available for DVD purchase, so we are excited to share them with you for free. For a limited time during the month of August 2020, we hope you will enjoy our 2015 Grand Production of The Sorcerer.

The Sorcerer opened in November of 1877 at the Opera Comique in London, where it ran for 178 performances. It was a success by the standards of that time and encouraged the collaborators to write their next opera, H.M.S. Pinafore. The Sorcerer was the first G&S opera to use all the major character types and typical range of songs that would appear in their later collaborations, such as comic duets, a patter song, and novel ensembles. The chorus is essential, taking part in the action and often acting as an important character in its own right.

The setting is a small rural village inhabited by gentry and country folk. A young man, Alexis, is obsessed with idea of love levelling all ranks and social distinctions. To promote his beliefs, he invites the proprietor of J.W. Wells & Co., Family Sorcerers, to brew a love potion. This causes everyone in the village to fall in love with the first person they see and results in the pairing of comically mismatched couples. In the end, Wells must sacrifice his life to break the spell. The satire in the opera is focused on old-fashioned conventions of aristocratic benevolence and grand opera. It’s a magical story, filled with topsy-turvy humor and beautiful music. The Sorcerer sets the stage for the wonderful collaborations that followed during the subsequent two decades of collaboration.

2015 Cast

David Fontenot
Sir Marmaduke Pointdextre

Holton Johnson

Julius Young
Dr. Daly

Russell Gregory

Arthur DiBianca
John Wellington Wells

Lisa Alexander
Lady Sangazure

Alexandra Reilman

Janette Jones
Mrs. Partlet

Patricia Combs

Daniel Kregel

2015 Chorus

Daniel Brookshire

Danny Castillo

Andy Fleming

Leann Fryer

Rosa Harris

Evan Kelley

Maurine McLean

Susan Meitz

Gary Preuss

Glenn Russell

Natalya Shelburne

Sarah Steele

Ian Stillwell

Abigail Stokely

Jamieson Taylor

David Treadwell

Brittany Trinité

Michelle Vanecek

Patrick Wright

Jay Young

Production Team

Ralph MacPhail, Jr.
Artistic Director

Jeffrey Jones-Ragona
Music Director

Bill Hatcher
Production Manager

Monica Kurtz
Stage Manager

Ann Marie Gordon
Set Realization

Jennifer Rogers
Lighting Designer

Matt Marks
Sound Designer

Pam Fowler
Costumes & Make-up Designer